6 Small Things Bring More Joy to the World! My New Year’s Resolutions

Text: Resolutions

Low Bar with High Impact

This year I have made resolutions that I can actually keep.  I believe I came up with six small things that will make a huge difference in my life as well as the lives of those around me.

1) Laugh with my family daily:  I love hearing my family laugh.  I hate to admit there are days when laughter does not happen in my home and that, my friends, should not be the case.  Between handsome hubby’s corny jests, my ghetto talk and the 3 bros flying antics, we should be ROTFLOL at least once a day.  A merry heart is medicine for the soul and Lord knows we could all use some healing!  (Proverbs 17:22 A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.)

2)  Bow My Knee, Say Aman and Let it Ride! One of our friends without homes sang at our church for the first time on Sunday.  The concept of his original “hymn” has made it into my resolutions for 2014.  This year I resolve to be more loving, more patient, less reactive and argumentative.  After all, 99% of the things I argue about aren’t even worth discussing one week later.  When I feel one coming on I plan to say a little prayer and let it ride! (Romans 12:18 Do all that you can to live in peace with everyone.)

3) Find 1 thing to celebrate everyday:  My three boys and I play a fun game during our drive to school.  We share one super small thing to celebrate.  I start us off with something like this, “I’m celebrating the fact that I remembered to bring my lunch this morning. We all burst into a chorus of “celebrate good times come on!” The course is followed by each boy finding something to celebrate. We exercise gratitude and celebration that leads to an appreciation of small things throughout our day. (1 Timothy 6:6 Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth.)

4) Learn to pronounce the words hill and pin.  Apparently I say heal and pen.  I can’t hear the difference:  Enter ghetto Tracey.  Handsome hubby get’s a big kick out of this particularly since he minored in English at Stanford!  I plan to surprise him ala Eliza Doolittle after a few top secret elocution sessions with my mother-in-law.

5)  Greet everyone I meet with a smile:  I am amazed by the effect that a smile has on strangers.  I treated myself to a trip to the farmers market while on vacation.  I was in a super good mood because my kids were happily scootering around the resort property, handsome hubby and my mom were watching football and I was shopping.  I couldn’t help blasting everyone one I met with a gorgeous smile.  The most amazing thing happened.  They beamed right back and my heart was warmed!

6)  Put my make-up on in the house and not in the car:  There are four traffic lights between my home and my office.  If I miss them all, which I often do, my make-up is flawless.  If I fly thru even one of them, I have to complete my face in the parking lot which just isn’t quite the same for some reason.   After one year of trying to keep my clothes unstained by my makeup, I’ve realized I need to get up earlier, plan better and put my make-up on at home…Duh!!! (Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.)

Even if you have set the bar as low as I did, I recommend you read my brother-in-law, Byron Davis’ post about achieving any goal you want on his life your epic life site.  http://www.liveyourepiclife.com/4-keys-to-achieving-any-goal-you-want/

Until next time…Fly high and dazzle ’em!

~The Ringmaster

If you have not yet subscribed to the 3 Bros Flying Circus we’d love to reserve a special seat for you!  Just click the upper right hand corner of the post. 

2 thoughts on “6 Small Things Bring More Joy to the World! My New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Well, be careful that your hill and pin don’t become hail and peein’ with the southern drawl effect your mother in law might add! You need a California Girl to teach you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

